Sarah Brightman - Fly (1995) 1996 Re-release
EAC | FLAC | Image (Cue&Log) ~ 353 MB Mp3 (CBR320) ~ 121 Mb
Label: EastWest | # 0630-17256-2 | Time: 00:52:52 | Scans ~ 77 Mb
Genre: Adult Contemporary Pop, Classical Crossover

Fly is the fourth album by classical crossover soprano Sarah Brightman. It is her second album with producer Frank Peterson and features collaborations with Tom Jones, Chris Thompson and Andrew Eldritch. Fly boasts a stronger pop and rock influence than Brightman's previous Broadway and operatic albums, and produced several hits in Europe including "A Question of Honour" and "Time to Say Goodbye". Since its original 1995 release, Fly is one of Brightman's few albums to undergo multiple reissues in different markets. Fly's first reissue was in 1996 to include Brightman's hit single "Time to Say Goodbye" with Andrea Bocelli.

Fly represents Brightman's foray into the world of electronica, which may surprise some fans of the acclaimed singer who have long associated her with the Broadway and classical genres. Beginning with a sound most associated with the former Phantom of the Opera star (although the international smash "Time to Say Goodbye" did not appear on the original release), the music quickly turns to a Euro-techno style offset by a pop/rock tone, with a couple of romantic ballads thrown in for good measure. Included in this set are the German hits "Question of Honor," a techno/rock/dance number interlaced with opera and written for boxer Henry Mask; "How Can Heaven Love Me," a duet with Manfred Mann's Earth Band lead singer, Chris Thompson; and a lovely pop ballad, "Heaven Is Here." Even more obscure is a rock duet with singer Tom Jones called "Something in the Air," with obscure being the perfect word to describe this entire outing by an international superstar who seems to rise to the occasion of any musical challenge. While there isn't a cohesive feel to this album as is the case with her later releases, it's still quite enjoyable to listen to Brightman take on what is usually left to the vocally challenged disco/pop queens gracing the Top 40 and dance clubs.


01. Time To Say Goodbye (Con Te Partiro) (Featuring Andrea Bocelli) (04:05)
02. The Fly (02:55)
03. Why (05:10)
04. Murder In Mairyland Park (03:39)
05. How Can Heaven Love Me (Featuring Chris Thompson) (03:44)
06. A Question Of Honour (06:34)
07. Ghost In The Machinery (04:23)
08. You Take My Breath Away (06:49)
09. Something In The Air (Featuring Tom Jones) (04:22)
10. Heaven Is Here (04:03)
11. I Loved You (04:10)
12. Fly (02:51)